'You can't win anything with kids' - Youth Challenge

rryanwilliams

Reaction score
Hi everyone, back here for the second year running. Last year I made a save with FC United which went well but I was unable to commit to it and regularly post new threads. This year, as you can see by the title, I'm hoping to go with a new challenge and give myself limits while by being a one club manager, I can develop as much home grown talent as I can. So the rules I have given myself so far are:

- Signings must only be players who are aged 21 and under
- Players who are signed over 21 are not allowed to play more than 50% of league games for the season
- Every season I must bring in at least 2 players from the youth candidates
- I must aim to have a greater Income than Expenditure on players

There are a few teams who I have in mind who have good youth facilities and youth recruitment, and I need your help on deciding who to go with.

- SL Benfica - Has state of the art youth facilities and already known for players who they have brought through in the past, including Angel Di Maria, Renato Sanches, Andre Gomes and Victor Lindelof just off the top of my head.

- Manchester United - Ever since the Class of 92, their investment in youth has always been a high and being a supporter of them myself I would like to try the challenge out with these. They have had a youth player in a league matchday squad for every game for the past 80 years.

- Barcelona - Been recently investing in a lot of youth players with the likes of Denis Suarez, O.Dembele, Semedo and with the money they have in the bank I could potentially bring in more additions that would help with their philosophy.

- AFC Ajax - It wouldn't be a youth challenge without including this team, having the youngest average age in a European cup final and exceptional junior coaching and youth recruitment, they already have many players who have the potential to become league stars.