duramu

Reaction score
Posted in the General Forum, but in case there may be a solution with regards to the editor, I am posting here as well...

Hey all, first post.

I've been playing the FM series for several years, and have always wished I had the ability to take up the challenge of playing my home team, the Portland Timbers.

We have been promoted to MLS for the following MLS season, so I was hoping that the timing would be such that the team would finally be playable for FM11. To my dismay, they aren't, although the real team IS in the FM database now (had a great time scouting my favorite players' stats last night. They did quite a good job must say! As expected...)

Anyhoo, is there any way to play a second division US team in the game? OR, is there some way to get the team auto-promoted to MLS so that I can play them from the start? I've looked around at editors but can't find anything yet...

If there's any creative way to work around this so I can play them, please do tell. Thx!

You will have to add new nation rules to the US. To do this click the 'Add nation rules' button on the left pane. Select the US, and 'Add lower divisions and cups to existing structure'.

Now you should just be able to select the second division - 'American Developmental League' I believe it is called and set its status to from 'Inactive Division' to 'League'.

Test the nation rules (it is on the left pane as well). I will give you a bunch of errors saying there aren't enough teams in certain divisions. You can either create those teams and add them to the divisions, or reduce the number of minimum teams required for that league so the error goes away. Either way will work - it depends on how much time you want to spend on it really.

A crash course in nation rule editing :p

If you don't want to do this yourself, or want a complete DB with all the teams ect. you could make a DB request in this thread and one of a couple of experienced editors will make the DB for you :)