The Target Man Thread - what works, what doesn't

krujap777

Reaction score
I've always had an interest in the "mystery" that is the Target Man option. Seemingly simple but hard to grasp effectively.. from reading these forums I see that there are people who completely ignore it and get their best results by doing so, and I see others who employ it and get consistently good results.

I've been playing the game for 3 years and I've been hit or miss with this tactical option. I've seen great things happen and then things fall flat, so I still experiment with it. It seems the effects are a lot more apparent in 2011 than it was in 2009 (I play both), so I do enjoy seeing that, but I, along with many other people, don't really have a firm grasp on effectively utilizing it.

If possible I'd like to hear people's success stories and input, with a little more analysis into what makes it work and not work, and hopefully different from the typical "For a fast striker use Run Onto Ball..." advice.

I was almost ready to say that the Target Man option is best utilized for very weak teams whose star player and tactics revolve around their striker. But of course I've seen people's examples on these forums that would go against this guess, so I'd like to hear more.

My main question comes down to this: How do you tactically build your team around your target man?

In my city and madrid save I create my own 4-2-3-1 and set my ST to 'target man run onto ball' .So a fast ST is a must for me. I've used Pato, Higuain ,Tevez,Dzeko and Ronaldo and it works well, they score most of my team's goal, but sometimes it don't work too because your team become too dependant on him, when he's off form (miss lots of one on ones) then you'll struggle to win. Also it make the tactic more predictable to the AI because you just keep playing through balls to your ST. However I think it works well in counter attack tactic. I suggest not using it if you want a more fluid and unpredictable play.