TakedaLegout

Reaction score
I am not an expert on European football but I've played FM forever, since the first iteration. My biggest question that I never seem to know how to figure out is "how big is your senior squad supposed to be?". Right now I have 25 players on that page with about 8 available for my reserves team.

When I look at other teams in my league, their squads are much smaller which makes me feel guilty for having all of these guys sitting around. Honestly, my favorite part of the game is signing players and seeing if they will develop or not but if you don't play them, they go backwards so badly it was a waste of money....still...I can't stop myself.

I always have 2 goalies (max 3), 4 central defenders, 2 left backs, 2 right backs, 4-5 midfielders (DM, CM, AM), 4 wingers and 3-4 strikers (depending on a tactic I use). That's around 22-25 players in my senior squad. I think you are okay, just rotate them well during season and you won't have any problems. Hope this helps!

I always tend to have a very large squad but most of them are young, I think a team with around 3 Key players, 6-9 First Team players and then 5 rotation or so along with some younger backups/hot prospects.

This definitely helps. I have so many young players on my team that it clouds the picture a bit. A guess a follow-up question would be, if you have a young player, say 20-22, who is getting occasional reps but their star potential keeps dropping, does that mean you aren't giving them enough playing time or are they simply not panning out like everyone first thought they would?