AC Milan First Season Advice

• Thread starter Thread starter Lord_Slop
  • Start date Start date
  • Replies Replies 11
  • Views Views 6K

Lord_Slop

Reaction score
Hi all,

This is my first time posting here, I've taking on the reins of AC Milan earlier today, first season in July 2009.

Transfer budget of USD 27 MM and Salaries budget of USD 2.9 MM of which USD 2.7 MM are utilised.

I've checked the team and here are my concerns.

1. First team age average is quite high, with key players well into their 30's.
2. Wing backs available are Zambrotta (L/R), Oddo (R) and Antonini (L/R) which means that I need one more to keep depth in the team.
3. Inzaghi is 35, I don't see him going furhter than this season, I'd like to keep him though for a potential staff position, so I'll need a fourth striker to supplement Boriello, Pato and Huntelaar.
4. The staff is amongst the weakest I've seen, I have nobody with higher fitness coaching than 8, but I do have empty slots for fitness coaching.
5. Also on staff, all the coaches, first team coaches and assistant manager do not have any attribute higher than 14 when it comes to attack, defense, tactics and technical.

On the upside, I have the most talented set of youngsters I've seen, covering all positions, the youth academy is top notch and the youth coaches are ideal, which means that I will have a pipeline of new talent, however all under 18 years of age.

My questions are:

1. Should I start promoting my youngsters in the first season and risk burning them out before they're mature enough, or should I wait for 1 or 2 seasons?
2. I'm considering firing the whole staff, what effect will this have on my team as a whole, will the performance drop?
3. If I am to leave the youngsters in the youth team, should I fill the gaps through transfers or just maneuvre myself with what I've got?
4. If I go for transfers should I go for young players (20 to 22) or opt for experienced players (28 and up)?