kmitchell96

Reaction score
View attachment 222036

I had dreamt of being a football manager my entire life. Having watched football from basically birth I had always enjoyed the tactical side of the game. I had been in some amateur and semi-professional coaching roles and was shocked when I got the call.
"Hi mate, Peter Marsden here. We have liked what we have seen throughout the interview process and we would like you to come in as soon as possible to finalise the contract and meet the board, backroom staff and players. Congratulations!"
Wow, I was not expecting that. A lot of good names had been linked to the league 2 side and I was the smallest of them all. I was happy to get the job though, it was my chance to show of my skills, maybe even surprise a few people.
It wasn't going to be an easy first job. Accrington were expected to fight against relegation this year with the likes of Cheltenham but I was hoping to do better than that. Maybe a mid table finish, possibly even a push for the top 6. High hopes but I am an optimist and I hope I can make the best of the squad.

Just 20 years old and following my dream. I am here. Accrington Stanley, The Crown Ground.

I didn't know what to expect as I came into the grounds parking in the taxi I had ordered. I would have to sort out some form of long term transport but for now I was happy to get taxi's up to the ground.

After the initial meeting I had been given the basic details of my contract; £850 a week, 1 year deal to start of with. Suppose it will be seen as a "prove it" contract before they can see whether they can trust me with the club. I am hoping that I can do well and move the club forward this season.

The owner had set up the bigger meetings later in the day with the board, backroom and players and hopefully I would be able to settle in quickly and get everything sorted with the set up so I could focus on doing well for the season.

View attachment 222025