Reaction score
Hey everyone,

It's my first time posting a proper FM tactic. I wanted to re-create Antonio Conte's 3-5-2 (5-1-2-2), which is notoriously difficult to beat in this game! Using some tried and tested settings from other tactics and my personal experience, I think I've created a pretty good version, which I have tested with two teams so far, Charlton and Lazio. I'll feature the Lazio save here.

Firstly, here is the tactic:
FM Tactic.JPG

Now some basics:

- I've found that a high line and slow tempo has generally yielded the best results.
- Focussing play through the middle is also key, especially for getting the most out of your target man.
- Time wasting is set centrally, between Sometimes and Often. Setting it too low (Rarely) has often resulted in losing possession too easily, and not taking time to make the right pass. This works well with the slow tempo to dominate games and provide a good balance between attack and defence.

Position notes:

- There is a fantastic balance in the current roles, but feel free to experiment and let me know if you see any improvements!
- My favourite part of this tactic is how the 3 CBs operate - they almost act like extra midfielders between the spaces, with the two outer CBs able to carry the ball into midfield, while the middle CB stays back to cover.
- The wingbacks will provide width, and cut in at the last moment, resulting in some beautiful goals from crosses into the running WB.
- The DLP in the DMC slot is the perfect combination for this position. Set to defend, he needs to be both a great passer and a good tackler, and I've seen some incredible performances by Capoue in this role for Lazio, as well as Dale Stephens in my Charlton save, so it is a versatile tactic from what I have seen.