How to change the match flow and get your team to play better in 13 - for dummys

apalaxe

Reaction score
Hi,

i, as many others, have been struggling to figure out how to be successful in 13 and finally i can get fun playing Football Manager again since 12.

Unfortunately i don't have the hardware to be able to record an how to video, therefore i will try to describe the basic steps required to play a successful match.

This is based only on my own observations and experience with playing the game, and i have little technical knowledge of Real Life football or advanced tactics in FM.

Please note: this are NOT Super or Magical tactics or an ME exploit, this is just an how to play the game as i think it is intended to.

The better the team and the it's players individual talent the better the result will be, if facing a much better team, like in real life you may find your team overwhelmed.

Introduction:

What we are looking for to have success in the match is to counter the opposition tactics and get the flow of the game in our favour, a good indicator of that is the possession bar; you will notice that around the 60% to 65% possession the team will score easily (more true to opposition team).

We will achieve this by:

- preventing the opposition from constructing plays
- retain possession in attack
- get the ball in the final third and score
- counter the AI opposition tactics

The opposition AI appears to have 3 standard formations (the same number available to the player and with auto role and duty), it may use player swap (the strikers or wingers or CMs) and the play style is unique for each team (tempo, passing...); they may change formations several times during the match according to the result, for example when trailing by 2 they may change to a more attacking formation and later in the match winning by 2 to defending like 3-6-1.

Preparation: