Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm new to Fm-Base and I'm new to the game as well. FM11 is the only manager game I've ever played. I have however read a lot of the advice on these forums. I don't like to use downloaded tactics as I feel it ruins the game.

I have, as my main game, chosen to manage Blyth Spartans and I'm in my second season. I have secured promotion in my first season, I think mainly due to my signings. Now I'm in the BSP I'm trying to play a defensive counter attacking style, but I can't stop leaking goals and find it very difficult to score from open play.

Team Instructions:

Philosophy: Rigid
Starting Strategy: Counter
Passing: Default
Creative Freedom: More Diciplined
Closing Down: Stand off more
Tackling: Default
Marking: Default
Crossing: Default
Roaming: Stick to position

I play with a deep defensive line and narrow width. I have my two centre backs one set as a limited defender with defend and the other a ball playing defender with defend, both with passing set to short. I have one of my centre mids as a ball winning midfielder and the other as a deep lying playmaker, full backs have tight marking set to yes and up front I have a poacher and deep lying forward on support. Left mid is set to winger with attack and left mid is set to wide midfielder with defend. Forgot to mention I play with a flat 4-4-2, but have also tried to play with a 4-5-1.

I am currently more or less half way through the season and I'm 13th. I feel like my players are more than capable in the league, but I'm just not getting the results.

Any help and advise is very welcome and apologies if I have posted in the wrong bit.​

You seem to have gone into this season with the main goal being to survive in the league, That is the route i would go if i was stepping up to football league standards but BSN/S to BSP standards the gap is so small you should actually be aiming for promotion/playoffs if your signings are good enough.