Build Me a PC!

Jakey2303

Reaction score
Hello all, I have a problem. I'm a PC noob!

I want to get a gaming PC but dont know where to start. I dont know my Intel from my AMD, my Nvidia from my... whatever!

So I ask of someone, can you build me a PC? Tell me what parts, what this and what that.

I dont wish to spend near £1000 because then I'm treading near Alienware prices.

If anyone can help it would be much appreciated.

Parts are pretty easy, and considering I recently helped acquiring parts for my brother.. you get the idea :p

Motherboard and Processor are the main parts. Depending how heavily used the PC will be, you can look into a combined package for around £200-250 for a pretty decent setup (see Maplin)

Power Supply - Something around 600W should run most things, but maybe consider going higher, depending on the Graphics card. Shouldn't cost you over £75-ish for a decent one. Cheap ones are available for under £30.

Graphics card - Probably the most money you'll spend, depending how high you go... Good model Nvidia (GT 640) will be about £75. High end will be upwards of £200. (Even then, the best one atm will cost upwards of £500!!)

All other things (case, DVD/Blu-Ray player) can be picked up pretty cheap

Hello all, I have a problem. I'm a PC noob!

I want to get a gaming PC but dont know where to start. I dont know my Intel from my AMD, my Nvidia from my... whatever!

So I ask of someone, can you build me a PC? Tell me what parts, what this and what that.

I dont wish to spend near £1000 because then I'm treading near Alienware prices.

If anyone can help it would be much appreciated.

Might want to specify what kind of price your willing to spend and also any other requirements you need.
Wifi, Hard drive Size, Blu ray drive etc.

Basically is it just for gaming or do you plan on having a lot of media(movies/music) also?
Id reccomend:
a recent asus motherboard,
either intel 2nd gen core processor or quad core amd