Building a future generation

• Thread starter Thread starter ZeeFour
  • Start date Start date
  • Replies Replies 7
  • Views Views 2K

ZeeFour

Reaction score
I'm new to FM and indeed come from a FIFA background, so there are a lot of things I don't understand.

When I manage a team in FIFA I generally buy in a few first team members whilst hiring 5 star scouts to find world class youth players. In FIFA there are two ways to do this

1 - Global Transfer Network

This uses the current player database in FIFA and gives you real life players or free agents already in the game.

2 - Youth Academy

This actually generates "fake" players at around 15 or 16 years old and your scout will tell you their initial rating and their potential rating. These players don't exist in real life they are just randomly generated.

My plan is, is to take over a team and do option 2 and scout youth academy players from one nation and try and rebuild not only the club but my national squad as well.

Does FM2015 work this way? or am I only ever going to be able to scout players currently in the game?

Here is an example of the Youth Academy (These players are randomly generated)

In football manager we have "regens" or "newly gens". There essentially the same thing as you would have in Fifa.

You can set scouting assignments yourself or have your Chief Scout set them. I leave it to my Chief scouts.

Every club has an academy... Once a year mostly in March you get a youth intake with new regens, most are **** but there may be one or two that could be the next Ronaldo or Messi. (very... very rare).

You can off course have your scouts go to Brazil or whatever to find the new Messi..

https://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&r...Usy9D7zmCRXuzUtEg&sig2=-Hv92sbkr9cI_bDsKoYXoQ

Last edited:
Cheers for the reply, I shall have a read at this!