Catenaccio Tactic- Football, Italian Style

maxy67

Reaction score
"Catenaccio! Even today the very word strikes fear into the hearts of football fans all over the world"

I'm quite new to Football Manager and this is my first tactic that I've decided to upload..

I decided that I wanted to try to create the style of catenaccio (loosely translated as padlock in English), a style of football although first introduced in Switzerland under the coach Karl Rappan in the 1930's. Catenaccio is now considered to be an Italian style of play due to the success of how Italian teams have deployed it. Made hugely famous by the great Milan sides of the 1960's: Helenio Herrera's all conquering Great Inter side and Nereo Rocco's Milan, who between them won 4 European cups in the 1960's

In its simplest form, Catenaccio is simply removing a striker, and instead adding an extra defender in the sweeper role. However Herrera's inter were also flexible, and capable of devistating counter-attacks. I believe my tactic to be also of a similar nature. Many of my goals have come from swift counter attacks against teams of far superior quality than my own.

The Tactic is a 1-4-3-1-1 formation: The tactic has a defensive sweeper as the rock of the defence behind the two central defenders. (I used a sweeper instead of libero due to the lack of quality players available in the lower divisions to perform such a hard role as the libero, but I think if you could get the quality then the libero could be very helpful in support play.) Two full backs, who are set to automatic. A ball winning midfielder set to defend in the middle of the park, along with a deep lying play maker (support) and an advanced playermaker (attack), as well as an attcking midfielder behind the striker (attack) and a complete forward on his own up front (attack)

How I've done with the tactic in my save-