Easier way to play?

Reaction score
ok ill try to piece this thread together instead since apparently im using a blacklisted word but it doesnt tell me which lol

edit: i've cut what i originally wanted to write into 3 pieces without changing any words, and now it's not complaining about blacklist or too many URLs anymore. Whatever. Next 3 posts contain what i wanted to ask.

Last edited:
I've tried and failed to get into an earlier version of FM. I loved to play Ascarons football manager game back then (1998, played the 1994 worldcup version lol), and i'm a football fan - but i'm no expert and don't wish to invest too much time into learning the game.

My frustration stems from being unable to figure out what on earth is making my team lose (or win) and if my changes actually did anything to the better or worse.
There is such an abundance of variables, i feel completly lost when i start a game. It's not better from the fact that i don't usually win without knowing why, but lose, starting with abysmal preseason friendlies.

Standard 442 assistant suggestions or a hand tailored formation based on player's position recommendation, putting the highest decision, passing and creativity guy in charge of playmaking and setting other roles accordingly and try to use shouts for quick fixes, none of it ever seems to DO anything for me?!

Is there a mode of playing the current FM that gets rid of some of the variables to show more direct, comprehensible and less elusive results?

Your team’s familiarity with the tactic you want to use is crucial if you want it to be successful. If your squad doesn't know how to play in your system, then how could your system possibly be successful? You can’t expect your squad to instantly learn how to play in your style, that would be outrageous. Gaining familiarity takes time...be patient.