Every Season... Unbeatable Team Becomes The Opposite During October

• Thread starter Thread starter Zeldja
  • Start date Start date
  • Replies Replies 7
  • Views Views 2K

Zeldja

Reaction score
Hello FM Base,

I'm fairly new to Football Manager and am hoping to learn a few extra things from various sites such as this and guidetofootballmanager. Right now I'm producing a let's play series which is going superbly, I haven't dropped any points in my season with Swindon Town thus far (I'm around 8 games in I believe). However, I have played with Swindon before and as soon as October time comes around, my results seem to go downhill and rapidly.

It's first noticeable with a drop in shots/shots on target, then we will be scoring fewer goals during games... soon enough, we'll be chasing one or two goal deficits every match and there seems to be no answer to this.

I have also started playing a season with Cambridge City and have brought in some great performers into my team including Gareth Seddon who at the start of the year was averaging 8.0-8.1. During the first few weeks we shot up the table to reach second place behind a Mansfield team that had yet to lose a match. When facing them for the first time in the league I thought it would be time to try and reduce the lead they had on us by attacking late on in the game (when they - Mansfield - tended to concede most goals). However, Mansfield managed to counter and grab two goals in quick succession - fair enough - my players were still very happy after the game and I didn't think much of it, it was just a poor decision to attack.

Now however, it's the 26th of November and we're heading to Wrexham on the back of three losses and a draw and I can't see my squad improving any time soon...

From looking at other posts here is what I have tried:
  • Bringing in youth players to shake up the squad a little.
  • Creating a new 4-4-2 (rigid/counter) tactic instead of relying on my current 4-3-1-2 and 4-5-1 formations.