Getting Southampton to the top!!!

Reaction score
Hello everyone.

Let me first quickly tell you who I am: I am a Belgian student in Computer Science, I'm 23 years old, and for the moment I'm in Kokkola, Finland, as an exchange student.

This is my first story, so please don't shoot me if I'm doing something wrong!

I wanted to start with a Championship team because I wanted a little challenge. I chose Southampton because of the fantastic facilities they have (state of the art youth facilities, top training facilities). The challenge is to get from the Championship to the top of the Premier League.

Southampton already had a few good players, the best ones are:
Jack Cork
View attachment 229535

José Fonte
View attachment 229536

Ricky Lambert
View attachment 229537

Iago Falqué
(on loan from Tottenham)
View attachment 229538

I bought some players who I believe will help me to get the promotion:
View attachment 229542

I can divide may incoming players into 3 categories:
Players for the first team:
  • Stephen Carr (DR)
  • Julian Speroni (GK)
  • Alessio Sestu (AMR)
  • Jordy Craddock (DC)
  • Cédrick (AML)
  • Hendry Thomas (DMC)
Backup for the first team:
  • Djibril Sidibé (DMC)
Talent for the future:
I only put a screenshot in of Sanogo, if someone wants screenshots of other players, just ask me!

The tactic I'll be using is a 4-3-2-1 with the striker being a target man, my wingers should supply crosses for my target man. This should be my standard starting team:
View attachment 229547

These are the results so far:
View attachment 229548
We started with some promising results in friendly's, but the season didn't start so good, with 2 draws, a loss, and we already got kicked out of the League Cup. Luckily, we got 2 wins in row the last games, and I hope to keep the form as it is. The bad start might be because of my wingers, Sestu got a 3 match ban early on, and Cedric only played 1 match so far because of the late transfer.

League table: