How to: Make Config Files & Add to Game.

Status
Not open for further replies.

*Paul*

Reaction score
Introduction
Many people make Graphics such as kits and logos but some don't know how to put them in your game. How do you get the Chelsea logo to go with Chelsea? Well, the answer is simple, you need a Config File which tells Football Manager 2010 what graphics goes with what team/player/etc. I remember thinking the same thing a couple of months ago, when I was a noob with Photoshop and Graphics. I will also upload some Config files at the end to help you guys. The file extension of a Config file is '.xml'.
Useful Programs to make Configs
There are many programs out there to help you make Config files, such as FM Graphics Guru and FM Skin XML which helps you change certain parts of a Skin.
Other Config Editors
FM Graphics Configurator
FM XML (Couldn't find a link for)
FM Graphics Guru 1.1
FM Graphics Guru is a newly released program to help edit or make new Config files. It is a very easy-to-use program and is self explanatory, really. However, here are some help screenshots with instructions.
Step 1:
View attachment 106958
Step 2:
View attachment 106959
Step 3:
View attachment 106960
Step 4:
View attachment 106961
If you are still unsure about FM Graphics Guru then click here.
Feel free to ask me any questions on My Profile Page, Post on this thread or even PM me.
Editing Config (XML) Files without any FM Graphics Tool
If for some reason you can't download one of the FM Graphics Tools or you'd rather do it differently, this is how.
Every Config file consists of a code which tells Football Manager which image goes with who/what team.

If you look at it closely, you will see it will include 'The Filename' and the 'Team Unique ID Number'. Let's open the LA Galaxy Config file, which I used in the example. So, when we open it, with Notepad or Microsoft XML Editor, it looks like this:
HTML:
[<record>
<!-- resource manager options -->