Votes: 2 50.0%
  • Average

Votes: 1 25.0%
  • Below Average

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

irishjohan

Reaction score
Hello there. I am an FM veteran sharing his tactic for the first time. The Tactic is for FM2013.

I used this 442 tactic to dominate European football with Liverpool, ending up as the No.1 ranked manager ahead of Fergie. I won 14 PL titles and 13 European Cups in a 20 year period.

THERE IS NO NEED TO SET ANY INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE OPPOSITION - OR TOUCHLINE SHOUTS. I DO NOT INTERFERE WITH/OVERCOMPLICATE THE SYSTEM. THE FORMATION IS PLUG AND PLAY.

I may have won more, it took me till the 5th season for title No.1 as I was tweaking my tactic until then. I then dominated the game in England and abroad.

I used the tactic for all games, home and away. It looks like a 424, but was designed to emulate my favourite 442 formations. Attacking and balanced, I prefer not to overcomplicate matters. I usually have good possession stats of above 60%.

The system works as follows:

Goalkeeper - Nothing fancy - GK, set to defend. Distributes ball to RB to set the play in motion.

Full-Backs - FB's both set to support, offer width and balance. Set to prioritise defence.

Centre-Backs - CD's both set to defend, they work as a pair. As with FB's - prioritise defence. Offer set-piece threat, particularly the left CD, who I set as the taller to attack the near post on corners and go forward on FK's.

Ball Winning Midfielder - BWM,. The more defensive minded of the two central midfielders. A Roy Keane-type, don't expect lots of goals, but will protect the back 4 whilst maintaining possession, he is set to support, as the back 4 does not want to play too deep, he works in tandem with his partner who is a...

Deep-lying midfielder - DLM set to support. When not in possession he will help form a defensive base. With the ball - a creative midfield force, also capable of scoring goals. Both midfielders should have a good work rate.