Need help re: hard drive replacement

ajt09

Nice Guy Gramps
Reaction score
Hey guys, have a bit of a situation going here and badly need some help. My SATA laptop hard drive is about to die on me, and need a bit of advice replacing it as I have NEVER been faced with this situation. The laptop I have is a Advent Roma 2001 (yeah I know-mistake), and I was wondering if the replacement HD has to be relevant to the manufacturar, or can I simply use any size/make? What I do know is the obvious-has to be 2.5 inch, and it uses a SATA make.

Also, is it worth upgrading from a SATA to an SSD? I heard the SSD's work faster, but may not last as long.

And finally, how do i go about installing the OS on the replacement HD, if I can't burn the required software to disc-my DVD drive is totalled aswell, so can't burn the boot up disk to DVD?

Help is much appreciated with this, as I have never done this sort of thing before, but I hear it's pretty straightforward.

And no I can't afford to replace the laptop-I simply cannot afford it, and I can't find the user manual anywhere and can't find it online :mad:

Cheers

Edit-just realised I've put this in wrong section too. Apologies

Last edited:
Also, is it worth upgrading from a SATA to an SSD? I heard the SSD's work faster, but may not last as long.

I would upgrade to an SSD if you can afford it. They are lightening fast. The only problem is that they are only small in size compared to regular HDD's.

I would upgrade to an SSD if you can afford it. They are lightening fast. The only problem is that they are only small in size compared to regular HDD's.

Just had a look on Ebay and seen a 64gb for about £38. To be honest right now, I'm not too bothered about the storage capacity size. As long as it's got room for Windows, FM and WoW I'll be happy enough. Can always upgrade at a later date. If I got one, would I need anything extra like cables or anything-the laptop is pretty much ancient tbh