New macbook pro, fan and heat problem

Melhoved

Reaction score
I just bought a new Macbook Pro retina, 13" 3,1 ghz i7, with 16 gb rAM and 128 gb HD and intel iris graphics 6100

I play FM with one league loaded and large database. I only use commentary during match days, no replays

I'm upset that the laptop becomes loud and warm after only 10 min of gametime
I downloaded SMCfancontrol that tells me the fans are at 5000-6000 rpm during matches and that the temp is 80-85 degrees celsius at times
Also the battery is losing power fast, like 20% in 30 min

Could this be right in a brand new, reasonable powerful Macbook? I have never used Mac before.

I hope someone knows about this and will answer. Thanks in advance

It's not a gaming laptop, remember that firstly. But yes that sounds about right. My 15" MacBook gets hot and fans blaring while playing FM. However be sure to check that you aren't playing in the stupid high resolution. You can disable the retina display and play at a different resolution which will help.

Thanks for the reply craiigman!
i'm aware that it isn't a designated gaming laptop, but my hopes were that a simple game like FM would run a little bit smoother.
I have now turned off Retina which helped some, but still not as i have hoped..
any other tweeks that somebody knows of, besides playing in a window.??

Mate, I have a similar macbook and always had issues but I usually play on my iMac and rarely play on the macbook. You need to fiddle with turning retina on and off (not just in the game but in Settings on your mac) and also need to change resolution in game. Google it, because plenty of people have had same issue. Its only the Retina models because my mates got a non retina and his runs perfectly.

i'm aware that it isn't a designated gaming laptop, but my hopes were that a simple game like FM would run a little bit smoother.
I don't know anything about macs, but there are a lot of tips in this thread. Read from the post I linked onward: