Noob Terminology Questions

• Thread starter Thread starter Answulf
  • Start date Start date
  • Replies Replies 12
  • Views Views 2K

Answulf

Reaction score
Hi, I'm relatively new to FM 2013 and American, and have a few quick questions:

What exactly does it mean when a player is creative? Is being creative purely a positive thing, or is there a downside to being creative - as in can you be too creative or is there an opposite trait?

Easier question - if a line is playing deep, is that towards their own goal or the opponents' goal?

Creativity is a positive attribute for the right player, along with decision making, I think it means the ability to create chances. Maybe there is a downside if the player has poor decision making and high creativity as they may look to pass or shoot when the opportunity is not there. I could be wrong though, maybe someone else on here can give a better answer.

And yes if the opposition line is deep it is towards their own goal. Be wary of some teams that play deep as they look to draw you in then counter attack.

Thanks Danny. As a follow up, does creating chances mean a general chance to score or is it more specifically a shot on goal? Or can you 'create chances' on defense or midfield? Do defenders/midfielders need to be creative?

I find the easiest definition of creativity is its opposite. If a player has low creativity, your coaches will say - or at least they did in FM11 - "X has trouble finding any pass other than the one in front of him". So a player with low creativity will not be able to see the potential for through balls or cross-field passes (not reliably, anyway) - he will always choose the safe option or, worse, the wrong one. It's not entirely about creating goal-scoring chances - a creative midfielder may also pick just the right moment to release a winger down the line, say, which may only lead to a goal after several more passes.