Not creating chances

Reaction score
Hi all,

Please excuse me if this is not the correct place to post this question and if this is just me being silly, but please bare with me since it's my first time posting.

It seem that my Ajax team is incapable of creating chances. My games just seem to flash by, and there might be 1-5 situations during a game that will be showed on the 3D match engine (I have the highlight mode set to show "key" moments). My past experience with FM, some 14 years is that it usually is quite the opposite when it comes to chances during the games.

I play a 4-3-2-1 formation, with mentality set to control and team form to very fluid.
For my four front men use a advanced forward, 2 inside forwards and an advanced playmaker, all on attacking duties.

I have had good success with these roles and settings going forward on previous games, (FM 14, 13, 12, etc.) but this version seems to be a bit more tricky.

My instructions are as follow: retain possession, shorter passing, work ball into box, play out of defense, whipped crosses, run at defense, exploit the flanks, play wider, push higher up, close down more, higher tempo.

From my point of view this should be goals galore in both ends of the pitch, but my last 8 games has been surprisingly low scoring. I even drew 0-0 away against Roma and Bayern in the CL.

So, that was my (perhaps to detailed) description of my problem. If someone here feels obliged to help, I would be forever grateful.

Try changing your advanced playmaker to support to link him better to your other 3 attacking players. It sounds to me like you are creating a big gap between your supporting midfield and your attack.

Might also wanna consider removing "Run At Defense" and "Higher Tempo".

What about the roles of the other players?