Of Red Lions and Blue Balls: How Rangers Made Me Stupidly Rich

Maleficus

Reaction score
Hi, my name's Roger T. Dailly. That's T for Thrice, by the way. Anyway, as I was saying, I'm Roger Dailly and I earn considerably more money than you for doing basically nothing. How can this be, I hear you ask. Am I the guy who sends those scam emails? Well, yes, but that's just a hobby. No, my real job involves far less effort than that, for I am a football manager!

1032664-he_man_b_large.jpg

This is me. Honest.

Now if it sounds like I'm showing off, well I guess I sort of am, but really I'm here to tell you my story. Perhaps you'll be inspired by my tale, or find out some useful insider secrets and then maybe, one day, you can be a rich football manager, too. Probably not though. I'm not saying that to be nasty, just that it's a saturated market, you know? And there's thousands of hopefuls better qualified for the job than you. Not that I was qualified for it when I started, but I digress. Let's get on with the story shall we?

CHAPTER ONE: I AM BORN

Twas a starlit night, my father and heavily pregnant mother were travelling somewhere or other, I forget where. Well, I say forget, it'd be more accurate to point out that I wasn't really around to know in the first place. Anyway, the car ran out of petrol and, this being a time long before mobile phones were around, they couldn't exactly call the AA. Then again, my father spent half his life avoiding the AA, being halfway to an alcoholic after all. So, as I was saying, the car broke down in the middle of nowhere, which was presumably somewhere just not anywhere particularly interesting, and my poor soon-to-be-parents decided to walk a bit and see if they could find a Little Chef or perhaps a rock festival, this being the late sixties and all.

SIXTIES.gif

The sixties: Crazy!