Players then tactics or tactics then players

• Thread starter Thread starter Sebacore
  • Start date Start date
  • Replies Replies 8
  • Views Views 1K

Sebacore

Reaction score
Do you tend to pick your tactics based off your starting players or do you choose your tactic and then start fitting/finding players to play within it?

I am still pretty new at the game and am struggling to find players that will fit in my style of play, which has me wondering if I should opt to change my style to better fit the players I have currently. If it matter's I am playing as DC United in the MLS.

The latter, I like to pick a philosophy and build my team around that.

I agree with Maxy67. Most "real life" managers usually have a philosophy or formation/style in which they want to play. When Ferguson took over at United back in 1986 he said he wanted to play attractive attacking football. Mourinho has said on many occasions he doesn't care if his footbal isn't pretty to watch it gets results. Sometimes the style of play can be attibuted to the history of the club you are at. For instance you couldn't imagine a defensive minded long ball playing manager taking over at Barcelona or Manchester United. The history of certain clubs dictate the club to play attacking football or possesion football etc

Depends on your managing style. I also do as the previous posters, however if I am limithed on budged I would prefer to build a tactic around the players. In a safe with Perugia (starting from c2b) I earned 30 mil for 3 years and a half, just by signing cheap young players and then building a strategy around them to exploit them best.

I guess my biggest issue is more of signing the right players. That is part of the game I am still trying to really learn.