Poor defence?

• Thread starter Thread starter Mohawk
  • Start date Start date
  • Replies Replies 4
  • Views Views 2K

Mohawk

Reaction score
Unsure if this is the right place to put this, if not then I apologise.

FM 2012 noob here, I'm playing with Borussia Dortmund and in my first season I won the league conceding the least amount of goals of any first division side, my defenders were pretty good and one of them even made 11 goals, all from headed corners, with the win and increased transfer budget I decided to bring in a few nice new defenders however its been a disaster.

I slipped as low as 11th and I'm now in march sitting in 6th and I've already conceded over double the goals I did last year, I'm using the exact same formation (4-1-2-2-1) as the previous year and playing with "Control" so I don't feel they are overextending, I cant figure out why they are performing this badly. Almost every single game I concede one or two goals in exactly the same way.

It happens as follows:

I lose the ball, usually in midfield

qFwF7.jpg

They seem to easily run around or pass the ball through my FB

ATrVR.jpg

Then it gets crossed in and they score

VQfJd.jpg

I really don't know why this is happening, it probably happened only 4-5 times last season whereas this season its literally the bulk of the goals I am getting scored against me, the defenders are statistically better than what I had last season, I've had them working on teamwork and defence positioning pre-game and it doesn't seem to make any difference, I was knocked out of every cup because of this and even lost to the team who was bottom of the league on a 16 match losing streak this way, I was winning 1-0 and they scored twice within 5 minutes and both were identical situations (except opposite sides of the pitch)