Reserve Team v. Loaning

• Thread starter Thread starter gbpacker
  • Start date Start date
  • Replies Replies 3
  • Views Views 2K

gbpacker

Reaction score
Hello everyone. I have a couple questions about youth development. I'm currently in my 3rd year at Man Utd in my save and my reserve team is a little weird. You see, when I took over, I cut everyone in the reserve with no potential and loaned everyone else (there weren't many left) out. That's also what I do when a play becomes too old for the U18s, I loan them out to a feeder. The problem is that now I have a senior team of 25, a youth team of 25, and a reserve team of 37 with all of them out on loan. So my question is how you guys organize your reserve teams and whether this is a terrible system. Should I keep about 25 out of that 37 at the club for better training/facilities, even though they won't be getting 1st team football at my feeders? In the cases where my players just end up playing reserve team football for the feeder, should I recall them and let them train in the reserves at my club? Thanks for the help! =D

My example:

Senior squad: 30 players. They all do a minimum of 15 games per season, witch i think its good
All the players that i cant sell i loan to feeders so they play and i can sell after. They are in the B squad
B squad: players from 19 years old to 21. At least 2 per position, but o use some in weaker senior games. They make at least 20 games per season.

Some players that i think need more games and don't play i loan to feeder clubs. This is crucial because the assist manager in my game prefers Sanogo to Fierro, so Fierro now is on a feeder club to get more games, as he is younger. Sanogo will eventually go to the main squad and Fierro will have his chances in the B squad.