The Cypriot dream

• Thread starter Thread starter DiddyP777
  • Start date Start date
  • Replies Replies 3
  • Views Views 865

DiddyP777

Reaction score
I’m going to start this story with a background of how my character got into management, and then I’ll get into the main bulk of the story from when I’m a manager. If you don’t like it, then don’t read it, I’m only doing this for fun. I would appreciate any comments for improvements :D

“YEESS!!”
This was the cry leaving the mouths of everyone who holds Ayia Napa dear to their hearts. We had just won promotion to the second division in Cyprus, taking the last promotion spot.
The last 2 seasons had been tough for the south-eastern team I owe my career to. Relegation to the Cypriot Lower Division in 2009/10 had shocked the country, as we had been in the top division just a few years before, beating Omonoia Nicosia, one of the most successful teams in the country, 2-1.
But we had bounced straight back up, the gaffer had said this was his last year, and had hired me this season as his assistant. I had helped tactically of course, imposing myself as a leader even though I was younger than most of the experienced players, 4 years ago, in 2007 I had been playing against this team, in that 2-1 loss for Omonoia. I look back on that day, as the worst in my life…

Last edited:
The score was 2-0 to Ayia Napa, they were being completely dominated, but they had scored two on the counter attack. I was yet to come on, a 20 year old wonder kid I was being described as, having being drafted into the side as a late blooming, 18 year old in the 05/06 season, where Omonoia only lost the league by 1 point, to a team that went unbeaten all year.
I was English through and through, but having been living in Cyprus since I was 6, that was due to my mum remarrying, but it meant that I could play for both nations. I was sat on the bench in this game, and waited for the manager to call my name.