Web Server cost

• Thread starter Thread starter Steve*
  • Start date Start date
  • Replies Replies 6
  • Views Views 1K

Steve*

Y.N.W.A.
Reaction score
I was just posting this for the Admins or anybody clued up on Web design and hosting.
I basically want to know where seems to be the best deal for Server space. Any feedback would be appreciated.

The best deal I cam across was this by Blacknight in Ireland:
Personal Shared Hosting - Minimus windows and linux hosting with php5, asp,mysql - Blog Hosting
10gb disk space.
200gb monthly transfer allowance
And support for up to 30 individual domains.
This comes to €50 quid for the year.

It seems pretty reasonable to me but is 200gb monthly limit really enough for say 15-20 small business sites/blogs etc? Im just asking because i am currently studying Web Design and looking for the best value packages out there.

*And before somebody makes a lame joke, im not running off to set up a forum and become a mod. This is purely for to get me started out and find out what I can. Just said id ask here because im still a regular visitor.
All help and tips welcomed.

Best deal doesn't equal cheapest. Since i have been a staff member the site has changed its provider a few times due to downtime and (lack of) customer service.

Best deal doesn't equal cheapest. Since i have been a staff member the site has changed its provider a few times due to downtime and (lack of) customer service.

Cheers for the heads up. They seem to be pretty reliable for not crashing. They have a few of the government institutions in their client base so surely couldnt be that bad. And they have the option of a month to month contract too which would give an oppertunity to test it out without major commitment. Main problem is would 200gb monthly limit be enough to run a good number of small sites.(mostly local business, sport clubs and the like). Really dont want to get stung for extra penalties for exceeding limits.