4-4-2 - Atletico Madrid / Simeone Style - The Right Space and Shape ?

joeyBanana

Reaction score
Hello guys,

so im trying to emulate Simeones Atletico from the last years, playing a tight 4-4-2 formation with pressing elements. First some screenshots to oblige to the holy rules:

View attachment 198717

View attachment 198714

Against teams with a strong offensive midfield, i find my defense a little lost. I studied Cleons 442 article and the space between Midfield and Defense is kind of open land, since the AMs of my opposition can exploit this space to the max. My CM-D is too involved in midfield and pressing battles, since his hardcoded PI of Closing Down forces him to do so, i do understand that he isnt a holding player . The questions is, if there is a way to fix this problem and keep the 442 shape. I got some solutions and tried them out, all with mixed results;
  1. Playing deep and narrow -> Gives opponents too much time on the ball, even lower table teams get too many chances, flanks are more prone to crosses
  2. Playing very fluid to keep the shape tight. Seems to help, but doesn't fix the problem
  3. Playing 4-2CM-2AM-2 to pull them back “naturally”, still doesnt help
So, is it possible to keep a 442 shape and control the space behind the mid 4 or should i just let it go and try out a 4-1-4-1 ? What about putting the 2 CMs in DM and going maybe with DM (PI: Get further forward) as runner and an Anchor Man for screening? I want to keep my middle real tight, play through the flanks. I would prefer winning 1:0 ten times more than going 5:3 every game. I want real tight, defensive football, no jokes, no flair, without giving up too much space and time, preferably in a 442.

Maybe you can help me out ? Is there anything else i might screwed up and could need some attention ?

(Sorz for my english, not a native speaker nor writer :) )

Last edited:
If you need the space between the D and M strata to be smaller, push the D-Line up.