RaySunshine

Reaction score
Hello all! This isn't quite 'Your Country Needs You' as it's not my country I've chosen! As it is, I'm preparing to take South Africa into the World Cup 2018 having got them qualified past Senegal, Burkina Faso and Cape Verde!

This is my first attempt at an FM story so be kind and hopefully I'll unveil the story of Bafana Bafana at the World Cup!

To begin with, here is the squad. In the next post, I'll talk through the key players for each position!

View attachment 43285

The Key Players
Here are the key players for each position from back to front. I hope these four will help become the spine and key to South Africa’s progress at the forthcoming World Cup!

Goalkeeper: Itumeleng Khune, 30, Kaiser Chiefs
Khune has been my starting GK since the save began. The Kaiser Chiefs stalwart is a 4-star rated player so I’m hoping not may goals will get past him during the tournament!

Defender: Rivaldo Coetzee, 21, Manchester City
Having been picked up by Manchester City and then loaned around across the last couple of seasons, Coetzee is building up a level of experience ahead of his years. Here’s hoping he can make the best use of this and secure our backline.

Midfielder: Percy Tau, 24, Mamelodi Sundowns
Tau burst onto the national scene via the African Championship of Nations in January. Since then, he’s made the right wing position his own. With a love of bursting forward and getting down the right hand side, the nation will be expecting him to take the game to the opposition.

Striker: Dino Ndlovu, 28, Qarabag FK
Ever since I took over the South African team, this man has been filling his boots as the country’s main striker. With 3 goals in 7 appearances so far this year, the South African fans will be hoping this well-travelled striker lights up the world stage.

So there we have it. These are the four players I hope will light up the tournament. Next up, the traditional warm-up friendlies against Syria and Slovenia…​