dabigberto

Reaction score
2nd December 2011

It has been about 5 months since I took over the reigns of my beloved Southampton, after Nigel Adkins resigned to spend more time with his famiy. Me? My names Robert Hay, and I'm a rookie manager, no experience at pro level, but I do have experience at managing local youth teams in my hometown. Nicola Cortese has shown a lot of faith in me to even consider giving me the job at a club I love and hope to bring as much success as possible to, and I hope to repay that faith as best as I can.

What has happened in the first few months I've been in charge you ask? Well, let me give you a recap of events.

Signings

Craig Dawson - £1.4 million from West Brom

View attachment 235424
Dawson has been a key player at the club since his arrival, playing superbly at the back and forming a great partnership with fellow CB, Jose Fonte. He as also put the ball in the back of the net 4 times this season and is the 3rd highest scorer in the team.
Ben Amos - £1.2 million from Man United

View attachment 235425
Amos has been stellar in net almost every game for us this season, giving up 10 goals in 19 games. He has been a little bit shaky the last few games however (giving up 5 in the last 2 games), and will be looking for ways to address that asap.

Hendry Thomas - £1.4 million from Wigan Athletic

View attachment 235427
Thomas has been a rock in the midfield for us, playing strong defensively, while also helping attacks.

Lewis McGugan - £1 million from Nottingham Forest

View attachment 235428
Originally signed to play as backup to Cork and Thomas, McGugan made a shining start to his Saints career, easily pushing out Cork for a spot in the starting line. However despite this, he sprained his ankle in training, and missed 5 weeks, giving Cork to get back in form and give him problems getting back into the side.

Danny Simpson £575k loan from Newcastle United

View attachment 235426