About to undertake a massive editing project: advice wanted

curtis290

Reaction score
Hi, I would post this under editing help but I feel like that's for simple questions to be asked one at a time and I don't want to clog up the thread.

I just bought FM11 for the purpose of playing with this new database. I posted something about it on the custom database request thread, but it's closed, and anyways, this is too big a project to ask someone else to do. I'm a noob to editing (barely know how to use the editor) but want to create a database where most of the nations have a maximum of 0 foreigners rule (this would include all South American nations, CONCACAF with the exception of MLS, most European nations excluding the really minor ones, India, China, Korea, and maybe Indonesia, Japan, Thailand, and Vietnam if I can find them). Also I would create a few intercontintental competitions but that's besides the point. Anyways, of course the only way to do this is by totally recreating the pyramid of each league, which is very complicated and time-consuming. But I'm willing to do it, and I'm not going to play a single game of FM11 until the database is done.

Since I know so little about editing, I want your advice on how to do this. What steps should I take? From what I understand, here's what I need to do:

1. Learn the editor better

2. Learn about all of the rules of every competition, and this includes a whole lot of stuff such as fixtures, TV money, promotion/relegation (very complicated in nations like Argentina, where I would have to download the advanced editor to make the rules): where can I do this? I want to replicate the real life ones exactly.

3. Actually go out and make the nation rules for each nation, save each one as a database and post it here.

Anything else? Any advice? I'm pretty poor with the editor.