dalao

Reaction score
Foreword

This guide is intended to explain both the general gameplay and tactical side of Football Manager games. I’ve been playing Football Manager since 2006, and am by no means a master of the game. This is just what I learned over the years, and what I think general opinion is wrong. To differentiate, I will refer game players like us, “gamers”, and virtual footballers in the game, "players".

What is Football Manager?

Football Manager is a series of football management simulation games that allows players to experience the role of manager in football clubs. With each iteration, more elements are added to the game to make gameplay experience more realistic and elaborated. So by definition, each new iteration must be better than the previous ones, that I firmly believe.

What Football Manager can and cannot do?

The post in this forum by GodCubed, Football Manager 2015 FAQ and Myth Debunking, accurately described the nature of Football Manager game and debunked a lot of myths about the game. The game simplely cannot and will not intentionally make you lose, so if you can’t win, either your team is out classed, or tough to accept but you just suck.

Maybe with some exceptions, like I recently lost in Champions League semi-finals against Chelsea, we controlled the game well, 3-1 in aggregate, then they scored twice in 90 and 92 minutes, in the same fashion, left fullback runs up field with ball and crosses to strikers, and we lost due to the away goal rule. But these things happens, in real life also, some players with sparks in their eyes, determined to make a difference, and they did it, isn’t that what we all hope to see in football games? And it can happen against us, one man’s loss is another man’s gain, you can’t win every time, accept it, live with it. I should note that Chelsea did go on and win the final, so maybe its their year.