maxchaplin55

Reaction score
Hi all,

I have been playing FM for a few years now, and am confident on my natural instinct when it comes to the attacking phase, even the transition phase. Basically, on the ball, I am confident. Defensively, however, I always feel I lack knowledge, clueless is a strong word, but I could definitely use some help.

I've recently started a save with Valencia, and have had a decent start. 0-0 Alaves, 4-1 Bilbao, 4-1 Eibar, and then I came up against Barcelona at the Nou Camp. This is my tactic going into the game;
View attachment 100764My aim is to play safe on the ball, keeping the ball as we travel up the pitch, and both CMs have PI to get further forward so once we are ready, they will look to make runs ahead of Zaza, and wingbacks will overlap. Worked wonders vs Bilbao and Eibar, with both Parejo and Perez getting in team of the week.

The game went disastrously. We had almost nothing going forward, however, looking forward, I am confident myself on fixing those issues. We lost 5-0. It is not the fact we lost that I want help, it was the issues that led to the goals, because I do not know how I would fix them. I am not necessarily looking for answers, but pointers, a second opinion. I was making notes on the goals as I was watching the game. I will attach the pkm, and will enter the notes. Thanks.

1st goal - nothing penalty.
2nd goal, Messi cuts inside, Gaya follows him, fair enough, however Orellana doesn't track Robertos run, who crosses in for Suarez but ball rebounds to Neymar because Nani has already started running away, assuming because the ball hit Garay and therefore Nani thinks we have the ball. How do I get Orellana to track back? He is on attack duty in AML.
3rd goal, again Orellana not tracking Roberto, free cross, and Suarez unmarked in the box, despite Garay and Abdennour not marking anyone. 8 of our players in the box and 3 of theirs. What can I do to prevent Suarez being open?