Jden86

Reaction score
I'm not someone who rages about FM and complains normally, I've been a big fan of the game and very grateful, sometimes I think they succumb to the pressure and change too much, I believe this year is one of them. I'm close to going back to FM17 which I've never done before but I like very little about it this year. Scouting is terrible (they tried to make it more realistic but it's clunky, slow and a drag), it seems players don't actually follow any plans or structures, the button positioning/design is woeful, there's lots more clicking and mini menu's, the replay screen is bad, the in game screens are unbearable especially the tactics screen.

Does anyone else feel FM18 is a backwards step?

Team talks talk more clicks which is annoying. The 2D mode is worse than last year and scouting is cumbersome.

But I've not played a lot yet

Love it tbh. A lot more realistic this year with dynamics and the scouting. Just needs polishing a bit in a couple of areas. The new stadiums etc make match day a lot more interesting.

Apart from the terrible looking match day screens/layout. Finding quite fun.

Apart from the terrible looking match day screens/layout. Finding quite fun.

Oh yeah the match day screens are worse too. Specially having so much unneeded stuff on the screen that you can't see all of the players involved in the match

Oh yeah the match day screens are worse too. Specially having so much unneeded stuff on the screen that you can't see all of the players involved in the match

Gonna pull those screens apart at weekend, see what I can roll back to 17. gonna be a pain.

Will do, the new tactics screen with the collapsible pitch was a nightmare. The titlebar on the matchday loks awful, its gotta go I hope its simple enough. The pre/post match screens I hope with port over easy.