Football Manager: The game that created a community

Reaction score
No real underlying point to this post really, more of a moment to appreciate a game that has given me far more than I've paid for. I've been playing Football Manger consistently since November 2009, FM10 was my first true voyage into the world of Football Management.

Before that, I've always been a FIFA player. I love the game but found random matches boring. I loved the season mode and trying to turn random unheard of teams into giants and this I did on a regular basis. My fondest memory was turning Salerno into Italian and European Champions without ever needing to break the 3 star reputation.

But there was something off about it, it seemed too easy. I wasn't sitting there, head in my hands nearly crying from a dodgy refereeing decision, or a sucker punch that sent me out of a cup final. I never wondered where I had gone wrong and agonizingly poured over my tactics to find the weak link. It never gave me any joy since the game almost wanted you to win, I found it patronizing.

Then came the day I spotted Football Manager in my local Game store. I bought it and after the initial, "What do I do?!?!" panic attack from the opening club screen, I found the game easy enough to get into. Now, playing it, that was a whole different story. Learning about how a formation works and the tactical approach, that was fascinating to me. Even figuring out, 'attacking dose not mean you will score' was humbling to me and I found myself addicted.