Gerard Houllier's Liverpool-style tactic (Narrow, Defensive, Counter, Very Direct)

Talleyrand

Reaction score
View attachment 334691View attachment 334690

This is my first time posting a tactic, though I have been playing the different entries of the game for quite some time and quite enjoy checking out some of the ideas you guys have. Here I'd like to share a tactic that I basically always use when I play.

I was a huge fan of France under Aime Jacquet and also Gerard Houllier-- especially his time at Liverpool. Note: If you want a Sacchi or some sort of Very Fluid ball retention/high-line tactic, this is certainly not a tactic that will interest you. I am very cautious when it comes to managing and I always focus on a strong back 4 and goalkeeper. Like Jacquet and Houllier, I also try and build a strong "square" of two central defenders and two defensive central mf players (in this case two mc(d) or central mf players with a defend setting.

I usually always try to use the shape of Houllier's early days at Liverpool instead of Jacquet's France as I find Jacquet's formation a bit more challenging. But again, I like to have that Hyypia-Henchoz type cb pair and then the Deschamps-Petit or Hamann-Gerrard in front. My fullbacks tend to not be as dynamic, as that old France side, until I can maybe snag a higher profile job. So usually I'll try and at least have more solid FBs who are tough enough and good enough in the air to be CBs as well.