manicprime

Reaction score
I've been playing FM and games of the kind since 2007 and enjoyed a moderate amount of success, league titles, champions leagues, promotions etc, but I just cannot fathom this year's release. I am currently on my 4th game attempt. Having tried campaigns with QPR, Liverpool and Newcastle, I am now with Arsenal. I'll give you a bit of background to my situation. I am currently 9th in the league at the start of January, only about 6 points off 4th.
Jovetic has been out since the first couple of games and is still a long term absence. My problem is, sometimes my team plays very well, lots of possession, lots of chances, lots of goals, lots of points. Other times the possession will be great but I wont create any chances, other times I'll get destroyed by teams who realistically have no chance, for example, I beat Fulham 2-0 at home, only to lose 3-0 at home to wigan days later. Im just really struggling to make sense of where it is i'm going wrong. I love FM, it would be a shame for me to have to give it up now. Help me! Any advice would be great, just let me know if you need any more detail.

Signings - Fellaini from Everton
Jovetic from Fiorentina
Ben Arfa from Newcastle

Play style - Possession football, balanced, attacking/control, high line, fairly narrow , similar to the tactics in the Raikan007 thread. 4-3-3 with wingbacks (gibbs/sagna), 2 centrebacks (Mertersacker/Vermalen) anchor man (fellaini), 2 central mids (arteta/wilshere), 2 IF (Ben Arfa/Carzorla) and a CF (Giroud/Jovetic)

I use a lot of individual instructions, generally passing is short with the odd exception, I leave the wingbacks and centre mids on mixed to extended their range of passing in an attempt to keep the ball moving and possibly open doors further forward.
I have my wingbacks and strike set to hold up the ball.
IF's run from deep often and roam to create space, same goes for striker with regards to the runs from deep.