I've been playing the same FM save for 5 years and still haven't won the WC...

Iamahuman

Reaction score
Gather round ladies and gentlemen and hear my story. A story of ups, downs, thrills and spills. One spanning from 2010 to 2015 in real life but an epic that runs from year 2010 to 2040 in game time. This is my Football manager story, in which I've been playing the same game and the same save for almost 5 years and have failed to win the World Cup, despite 5 attempts and counting.

Despite this being a story of international affairs, I'll start by giving a brief overview of my domestic story as it is a fulcrum to the whole narrative. From the years 2010 to 2026 I turned Sunderland from mid-table minnows to the greatest team the world has ever seen. Onwards from 2015, I won both the premier league and champions league every year until my resignation in 2026. In the 2020/21 season, Sunderland managed to score over 150 goals with my three strikers, Fabinho, Fabinho Jr and Hernandez managing to score over 30 goals each and my defender Hulk exploiting the near post corner tactic with 28 goals. My midfield maestro Markovic consistently got over 20 assists each season, reaching a zenith in 2024 with 56 assists. Why is all this relevant? My team was essentially Brazilian as I recruited young talent and transformed them into global superstars before they reached the age of 21. Eight of my starting XI were Brazilian: Fabinho, Fabinho Jr, Hulk, Fabio Souto, Rodrigues, Marcelo, Bento and Beto. As I was essentially managing Brazil at a domestic level, I was eager to become the actual Brazil manager as soon as possible so I could fully harness the ability of Fabinho and co, leading them to glory. Nevertheless, it must noted that originally the World Cup was never the final goal. It was only after achieving an unbeaten season in 2022 that club football merely became a 4 year filibuster. In essence, I was dominant at club level: could I transfer this to an international level?