Reaction score
Has anyone ever managed a 2nd team of a club before? I just accepted a job with Werder Bremen II and just wondering if anyone else has done something like this before. I didn't think you could manage outside of the 1st team on FM.

-Background-
I started my save with 1860 München and got sacked before the end of my 1st season (fyi - I'm a total noob at this game and fully admit it). I applied for jobs after the season ended, but couldn't get interviews because my reputation was so low. I started with decent credentials My save only has England (League 2 & up), Spain (top 2 divisions), Germany (top 3 divisions), Italy (top 2 divisions), Russia (top 2 divisions), Czech Republic (top 2 divisions), Switzerland (top 2 divisions) and Austria (top 2 divisions).

In finally got an interview with a 2nd division Russian team, and Werder Bremen II (second team). I initially almost took the Russian job, but finances were awful and staying up could be an issue. I decided to take the Werder Bremen II team. I figured it was a lower risk and would help build my reputation with a legit organization.

Let me know if anyone has done this. I can share my experience on the Manger Stories thread if interested.

Must admit I've never managed a B team but I know a few people who have, namely Real Madrid and Barca B teams, obviously you are restricted to a degree as you can't get promoted and best players could be taken to the first team but decent chance to build your reputation and can sometimes get good players who are rebuilding fitness after injury.

Has anyone ever managed a 2nd team of a club before?

I started unemployed with national player experience and no coaching badges. It was also very hard to get jobs. My first job was to manage spain u19 squad to build up my reputation, and just applying for every open jobs available. 90% of the times, you will get rejected.