Welcome!

FM Base has been serving the Football Manager community for nearly two decades and we're keen to ensure that we are here for two decades more.

Become a part of our community today, and you'll quickly realise that the Football Manager community is the best community.

Register

Match just doesn't start

Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2008
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I need some serious help.
I installed the game yesterday but as soon as I get to the first friendly game it just freezes (i get the black and white football and the title changes to 'match'. I have tried leaving it for a while but it just won't work.
I have
Windows Vista.
Intel core Quad Q6600 2.40Ghz
4GB Memory
NVidia Ge force 7050/nvidia nforce 6101.
Does anyone know what's up?
Thanks
 
Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2008
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
0
RE:

I'm having similar issues, I found a thread that downloading the DirectX SDK would solve the issue. Search for it in the Microsoft KB.
 
Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2008
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I'm having similar issues, I found a thread that downloading the DirectX SDK would solve the issue. Search for it in the Microsoft KB.
Thanks for that, I only got my new PC yesterday and am working off my laptop at present, will give that a go tomorrow when i set it up properly.
Anyone elso any more ideas.
 

Lee

Administrator
Joined
Sep 15, 2005
Messages
8,651
Reaction score
0
Points
36
No need to get the DirectX SDK that's for developers only and doesn't effect your games. Download the DirectX End-User Runtime.
 
Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2008
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Thanks Lee. I'll give that a whirl tomorrow.
Is my graphics card powerful enough?
 
Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2008
Messages
102
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Click Options > Preferences > Display & Sound

where it says 3d match enable or something like this you need to change it to 2D. Happened to me just means your Computer/Laptop cannot play it in 3D even if it does meet minimum requirements for 3D.

Help guys?
 
Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2008
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Fixed, somehow...

OK so the SDK pack (which adds components "utilities" that some machines don't have - yes its for developers so guess who cocked up...) now, also XP users are required to update their .net framework [dotnetfx] you can find that on the Microsoft knowledge base too.

Now you need to start the game windowed - change the shortcut path to:

"C:\...\worldwide soccer manager 2009\wsm.exe" -windowed -small_screen

Yes, that does mean I'm stuck in the USA. :(

The game should run fine, I let mine run through a match - then hit Alt + Enter and have been running full screen fine now for say 11 hours.

Weird one.
 

Lee

Administrator
Joined
Sep 15, 2005
Messages
8,651
Reaction score
0
Points
36
Wow I've just been on the SI site and you're right installing the SDK does fix the issue. What a screw up by SI, people have to install the SDK which takes up about 600mb just to get the game to work. Good job I already have the SDK's installed otherwise I wouldn't be very happy about having to get that.
 
Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2008
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
0
i have the same freeze problem when setting a match up, wil this work for me? if so could you supply a step by step guide for a dimwit please :)
Windows Vista.
Intel core 2 duo t7250 2.00Ghz
2GB Memory
NVidia Ge force 8400m gt gpu
 
Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2008
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
0
installing the new patch today 20-12-2008 has made no difference whatsoever, still freezes at the start of first friendly
 
Top