Need help with inconsistent 4-3-1-2 tactic

suvirj

Reaction score
Hi!

FM 16 is my first FM game ever. Absolutely loving it so far. But I need help with tweaking a tactic that is becoming pretty inconsistent results-wise.

I play with Liverpool and trying to get a solid 2-striker formation working.

Some screenshots of my tactical instructions and the team.

View attachment 181351View attachment 181350

My major issues with this tactic -
  • Works really well (mostly) against mid-table and below teams. Fails against better teams.
  • Absolutely terrible in attacking 4-2-3-1. On my save, Arsenal and Spurs play 4-2-3-1 and I can manage a draw at best.
  • Very susceptible to crosses. Nearly 50% of my goals conceded are from crosses alone.
  • Seems too dependent on performance of fullbacks. When both my main FBs were injured, there was a run of draws for couple of weeks.Btw, I normally play with both FBs set to Automatic. That is not the case for the RB in the screenshot.
Results-wise, I guess I am doing just alright.
  • 5th in league in January end - 1 point behind 4th.
  • Knockout stages of Europa
  • 6th round of FA cup
What concerns me is the inconsistent results. It works amazing in some games and goes to **** in others. I would demolish bournemouth 6-1 or defeat chelsea 3-0 sometimes. At other times, I would hardly create any chance and get comprehensively beaten by a team playing .

What am I doing wrong? Are the instructions overdoing it? Are the players the wrong fit?

Mentality?

The biggest concern would be the large gap between defence and midfield due to you not having anyone to protect the back 4 - defend duty, holding midfielder. You'll be giving opposition AMCs and anyone else operating in that area a lot of space.

Sorry, mentality is Standard. My squad is fluid with all aspects of the tactic for a long time.

I see your point about the big gap. In some of my good games, I set one of the mid fielders to DLP-De and did not notice any major issues.