NXT GEN V1 Newcastle, League and FA Cup Double (1st season, no transfers)

Thedarkdr

Reaction score
Background
Played FM for as long as I can remember, but never had the courage to post in these forums. This is my first attempt, please be nice lol. Absolutely love the games and love the challenge of creating tactics that work, particularly for the underdog. The theory being if my tactics work with the likes of Newcastle then they should be sound for the bigger clubs too...as I say theory.

My Aims
To create a tactic that;-
  • is defensively sound (not perfect)
  • plays football that scores goals
  • can be used effectively in Home/Away
  • (THE BIG ONE) Can make Newcastle title contenders with no transfers (top 3 finish)
The Tactic

I went for the standard 433 DM Wide (4-1-2-2-1) as this is the formation feel offers the most balance for Newcastle with the protection of a DM, whilst not relinquishing any threat going forward.

View attachment 312057

Now here's where it becomes slightly weird. The mentality is "Contain." I tried using Attacking/Control etc and at Home results were good, some very good but away I was getting mixed results, one of my Aims was to create a tactic that I could use Home/Away...So decided to be experimental as I've never used the Contain mentality before in an attempt to make us harder to break down. My worry however was that this may clash with my other aim of being able to score goals....

Team Instructions
View attachment 312056

Contain is low paced defensive mentality, designed to block attempts on goal and stop you cocnceding with limited desire to get forward. Straight away i needed to counteract this with the TI Much Higher Tempo, get the ball moving quicker to be more adventurous, coupled with pass into space for some purposeful breaks. I still want to be solid and frustrate teams so I've also gone for Retain Possession. Push Higher up becasue I dont want to invite pressure and it also helps with possession and pressing.