Oxford City: From University Town to European Glory

EmZa

Reaction score
View attachment 183186

Hey, I love reading football manager stories, especially road to glories, but I've never posted one before. I started playing FM in 2015. Being an analytical kind of kid, the idea of such a detailed game and the simulation aspect really attracted me. I finally decided to cough up for FM 16 and start anew. In my first RTG I took Plymouth Argyle to Champion's league glory so this time I decided to go a step further and complete the classic FM challenge: take a Conference South/North team to Premier League and eventually European glory. As I'm new to this whole shebang any and all feedback is appreciated. I'm sorry I'm not doing something more interesting or creative, but this is just a classic RTG.

Anyways, the team I chose was Oxford City. Why? No reason really, I just usually choose a team predicted to finish midtable, and City were predicted to finish 9th in the Conference South. But I was aiming for bigger. I don't really know anything about the club's history, it seems they've never been in the football league so I'm looking to take them into uncharted territory. My goals: Eventually win the EPL, FA Cup, Champion's league, and most importantly; become a better club than our fierce rivals Oxford Utd.

Anyways, here's the club
View attachment 183205View attachment 183206

As you can see, I've chosen the Bulgarian legend Dimitar Berbatov as my manager picture. Here are my stats (I started as a more tactical manager with semi-professional footballing experience.
View attachment 183204
I'm already more than halfway through our first season so I'll post our transfers, formations, results, and league position soon!
:)

Last edited:
I'm going to be posting updates the every two months, including any transfer or injury news. I'll usually post the month's results and a league table but because I'm already halfway through this season I can't post the league tables yet.