StuRat

Reaction score
Ok so, im pretty new to this game, never played football manager previously. I have done ok so far, managed to get port vale automatic promotion from league 2.

My biggest issue though is my team seems to struggle with finishing and passing. Against decent teams the passing fails miserably, i have found that against lower teams or teams about my port vales level, the passing is adequate and sometimes flawless. Finishing is still always an issue. No matter how much training ive put into the boys they seem to miss so many shots.

What do people suggest, i dont really have much funding to buy new players, the players i have bought/kept i have picked the ones with the best attributes in those areas but it just doesnt seem to matter :/

I am probably just missing something really obvious and basic, but thems the breaks with utter noobs like me! :D

well if i were u i would just give them alot of passing and shooting pratice or just try to buy new players with high shooting rating :)

Do your players have a decent enough decisions attribute? Maybe they're good passers but they're not that good at making decisions and end up being sloppy, letting the opposition intercept poor passes and such. About the finishing, well, I'll have to agree with you there... I'm missing lots of 1 on 1s, I'd even dare say it's been easier for me to score from a set piece than from open play.

Decent teams with decent managers with decent tactical knowledge are closing down your players a lot. If you play versus a much stronger team they won't even let you near their half unless you are playing very direct, but very direct passing is also bad for posession.