Pressing with deeper defensive line?!

FalseZero

Reaction score
Hey Guys, Im new to this game...

Ive noticed some people effectively using strategies with a slightly deeper/deep defensive line and pressing much more with preventing Gk distribution settings.

Can somebody explain to me how this should work in real life? Wouldnt there be big gaps?
With the Strikers pressing aggressively, but the rest of the team sitting deep, wouldnt there be gaps in the midfield area allowing the opposing team to escape the pressing?
If the midfield players pressed high too, with only the defensive line sitting deep there would again be gaps between mf and df for the opponent to exploit, or not?

So can aggressive pressing work without a high defensive line?
Would be thankful for a tactical explanation!:)

Last edited:
If you see that, you'll see it on the TI screen. On the TI screen, you're only tweaking the defaults, so you'd be tweaking the line to be a little deeper than it is by default for the Mentality and you'll be tweaking the pressing to be more than the default for the Mentality.

So, it's not necessarily heavy pressing with a deep line. It's just more pressing with a deeper line than is the default.

Thanks!:) One more question: I have my settings on much more and high defensive line with preventing GK. But Somehow the pressing doesnt seem to work, the players dont aggressively swarm/attack/harass opponent players. So theyre usually not under pressure and have the time to make accurate passes. Is that normal?
Ive seen some players adding the instruction for every single opponent player to be closed down, always. Is that changing something when I have the TI instruction on closing down more/much more already?
Thanks in advance!

Last edited: