Problems making a good tactic for Spain national team

FiReFTW

Reaction score
Hey im kinda new to football manager , but since I like national teams alot I decided to try as my first job to manage the Spanish national team , however im having huge problems...

I don't know why but my tactics just won't work good for some reason , against estonia and belgium I had less possession than they , I had like 40-45% which is ridicilous.

The Line up I made was 4-1-2-1-2

Casillas ( Goalkeeper - defend )
Pique ( Limited Def - defend )
Puyol ( Limited Def - defend )
Ramos ( Full Back - auto )
Arbeloa ( Full Back - auto )
Xabi Alonso ( Anchor man - defend )
Xavi ( CM - support )
Fabregas ( CM - support )
Iniesta ( AMC - attack )
Villa ( Poacher - attack )
Torres ( Adv Forward - attack )

With these settings

Fluid phylosophy
Attacking strategy
Short passing
More expressive creative freedome
zonal marking

I appreaciate for some tips or advices , thanks.

your center backs shouldnt be limited defenders, xabi alonso plays better as a deep lying playmaker defend, fabregas as a box to box , iniesta attacking miedfielder or trequartista(how good is he's finishing?), besides iniesta plays way better as a central miedfielder, xavi advanced playmaker. and i think that's your problem, you only have one guy defending, xabi aloso , the others only attack, try to play with marcos senna as a ball winning miedfielder

All I did was changed those jobs for the players ( the formation and everything stayed the same as the players position on the field ) and suddenly I won estonia 4:0 , interesting how such a little thing changed everything so drastically, alltho my possession was still 49% in the whole game but I had alot more shots than them.

Mind I ask how you know what job to set for a specific player so that he plays to his best potential? Is this writen in some guide or something?

Thanks in advance