Peter Wong

Reaction score
Hey all,

I'm new to this game and slowly getting the hang of it, but it can be overwhelming and I need to ask about even simple things.

1. What are reserves? Why do I need them? Can I just skip on reserves matches? When do I call up someone from reserves into my main team? And if I do so, do I need to put someone else into the reserves team so that they have enough people?

2. I am playing as the Vauxhall motormen at the lowest league, and with really poor training facilities, what exactly can I do to be stronger? Training of stats seem to grow at a snails pace. My tactics are already maxed out.

3. How much money do I need to earn to get the board to improve training facilities?

4. For match preparation, is this a temporary "boost" to stats? Is there any difference if, say, I practice tactics at the start of the week, and then practice fitness just before a match? I just want to understand why the need to have a separate match training.

Last edited:
I'm not the best at FM so i'd wait for someone else to give you some advice but here goes.

1)Reserves are just fringe players, people not good enough for the first time but you want to give them game time to keep them match fit.

2) Ask the board to improve training facilities, better coaches etc.

3) For newcastle it's usually like 2mil

4) Match preperation improves a certain thing for aslong as you're training it. So if you train defensive positioning for 1 year and then change it you'll still have good defensive positioning. Just not as good as if you didn't change it

Like i said i'm not the best so i wouldn't quote me on any of that.

3.) Not much money at all.

4.) Yes, the Match preperation is a boost for that specific match and it does not stack up ( apart from Tactics).
As for Training, it has nothing to do with the match.

Last edited:
I'm also not familiar with football season in general. I want to ask about them for the income.