Re-creating Dortmund 1993 5-3-2 with Libero

Trugg0

Reaction score
I am pretty new to FM 14 so looking for some help.

I want to create a 5-3-2 using an attacking libero, based on the formation Dortmund played in 1993:
View attachment 361416

I experimented with an attacking libero in the past on older versions of FM and always struggled.

Back in 93, Dortmund played a more rigid-direct approach, but I want something slightly more balanced.

I know it's hard to find a player for the libero role as there are virtually no plug and players available and can take a season and half to train someone to get comfortable.

Any suggestions on player roles, duties and instructions would be great!

Finding appropriate players should only be the second step. First, ask yourself: does the Match Engine emulate the Libero role the way it should?

Big "nooooo way" on that one, I fear. As I ****** love the likes of modern libero lookalikes among the lines of David Luiz or Mats Hummels, I've been trying to implement this one since FM12. Even with the most aggressive individual instructions and tinkering with PPMs, these players hardly ever bomb through the lines like they're supposed to. They do however act a bit like a stopping central defender, occupying the space between your defensive line and imaginary defensive midfielders (usually you won't be playing a DM in front of a libero, as they'd stand on each others feet).

What really broke the neck was the removal of the "Playmaker" option in FM14s tactics. It was easier to emulate this playing style in earlier versions, where you could set up your libero as sort of your primary playmaker; allowing him to run through the park with the ball instead of acting as a mere anchor man who'd supply the central midfielders with balls from behind.