frazthegun

Reaction score
Im completely new to football manager and am really struggling with the concept of the game, im currently coaching havant and waterlooville at the lowest league (as i planned to work my way up) and am sitting 19th in the league on the verge of being sacked.

I've tried to sign loan players etc but i've failed and have bought a couple of players which i thought might help but i still keep losing games, i very used to fifa with overall ratings of say 65, 88 overall the highest being the best so i'm not to sure what players make the best ones as there no diffenitive overall grade. Im looking for someone to give me tips to help me improve my position etc and so i enjoy the game more instead of struggling all the time. Many thanks anything whatsoever will be of help

I wouldn't really advise trying to learn FM with a lower league side. IMO you should take control of a team with a really strong squad to learn the ropes. If I where you I'd take a look at starting a game as Shakhtar - they are probably the easiest team in the game.

What makes a player good for a position cannot be simplified to a single number. Often it is up to what role that player is taking within a formation, your preferences ect. Regardless, take a look at this. Also, I would also recommend reading through Tactical Theorems '10. As the name suggests, it is for FM10, but it still fully applies to FM11.

Lower league is definitely tough. I'd actually recommend a secure, steady mid-table side. You won't in too , much risk of relegation or getting sacked for not challenging for trophies, and also learn the nuances of the game. Problem with managing the huge sides is you'll be expected to win instantly, and their squads are often so strong that you'll miss one of the best qualities of FM - dealing with overcoming the shortcomings of your squad.