Should I Set All My Players To Their Preferred Roles & Duties?

Vanchatron

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to FM and when I bought 2012, my first ever season went amazingly. I went on a 28 game unbeaten streak, won the Serie A & Italian Cup, and gained a **** of a load of Steam Achievements. Then came the second season & it all went downhill from there. I started messing around more with the tactics etc, and I think I've probably messed things up a little too much as I've been playing terrible recently & I'm hardly winning any games.

I have a feeling one of the problems is down to the fact I never know what Roles/Duties to give my attackers. I don't mean positions, I mean their actual "roles". If you use 4-1-2-1-2 for example, it sets the two strikers to AF(A) & DLF(S). Now when I check my two strikers, it says that one of them plays best as a Trequartista(A) and the other plays best as a Target Man(A).

So what am I meant to do in this situation? Should I set them both to their preferred roles & duties or should I leave it as it is? And should I do this with the rest of the players in my team aswell? I just don't want anything to get gimped from doing this, such as it producing gaps on the field for the opposition to exploit etc.

If I could get some advice or tips here I'd appreciate it, thanks.